I like to "kill two birds with one stone." George Washington was born in 1732? Who cares. The square root of 3 is about 1.7320. Is that going to be on the test? But once you note that George Washington's birth year WAS the square-root of 3, who could ever forget either fact?

If I'm calling someone in another country, I'd like to know if I'm waking them up or not. And it's nice to have at least a vague grasp of the world map. Kill two birds with one stone just by memorizing a list of 25 places.

Cities associated with Time Zones

24:00
Samoa
172° W
23:00
Auckland
175° E
22:00
Vanuata
167° E
21:00
Sydney
151° E
20:00
Osaka
135° E
19:00
Manila
121° E
18:00
Hanoi
106° E
17:00 [16:30]
Omsk [Calcutta]
73° E [88°]
16:00
Lahore
74° E
15:00
Muscat
58° E
14:00
Baghdad
44° E
13:00
Cairo
31° E
12:00
Prague
14° E
11:00
London
10:00 [11:00]
Cape Verde [Dakar]
23° W [17°]
9:00
So. Sandwich I.
37° W
8:00
Rio de Janeiro
43° W
7:00 [8:00]
Caracas [Buenos Aires]
67° W [58°]
6:00
New York
74° W
5:00
Chicago
88° W
4:00
Denver
105° W
3:00
Los Angeles
118° W
2:00
Juneau
134° W
1:00
Hilo
155° W
0:00 [2:00]
Midway [Nome]
177° W [165°]

I've tried to choose a city or small country that is BOTH near appropriate longitude line AND actually observes the designated time zone (at least in winter time). In some cases a city closer to the desired longitude but not in the target timezone is shown in brackets.